What was the first u. s. s. enterprise?

The first ship to bear the name U.S.S. Enterprise was a sloop-of-war that served in Lake Champlain during the American Revolutionary War. It was originally a British vessel named George, captured by the Continental Forces in 17 75. It was burned to prevent capture in 17 77 after running aground.