What happens when a star falls?

A falling star is not actually a star but debris of dust and rock that has entered the earth's atmosphere, called a meteoroid. As the meteoroid falls to earth it heats up and begins to glow causing the streak of light seen in the sky. If it reaches earth's surface it's called a meteorite.