What does processed food mean?

Processed foods have been taken through steps to add preservatives, flavors and colors to them. They have often been at least partially cooked. They are usually going to have additional ingredients, typically for preservation, that aren't find in the foods that come straight from the source.

---

Processed food is food that has been modified from its naturally occurring state and now contains artificial ingredients, such as various chemicals, additives or preservatives.