Why do they call them charley horses?

“charley horse” initially seemed to refer to athletic injuries in baseball rather than the painful but short-lived spasms people experience. Charley was a white horse who pulled a lot of weight at White Stockings ballpark, this made him walk limp and ball players compared their injuries to his.