What's the s. and p. futures?

500 Futures, also known as E-mini, is a stock market index futures contract traded on the Chicago Mercantile Exchange`s Globex electronic trading platform. S&P 500 Futures is based off the S&P 500 stock index. The value of one contract is 50 times as much as the value of the S&P 500 stock index.