What's the definition of modulate?

Modulate. 1) To regulate by, or adjust to a certain measure or proportion; soften; tone down. 2) To alter or adapt (the voice) according to the circumstances, one's listener, etc., 3) Music. To attune to a certain pitch or key. To vary the volume of (tone).