How many people have excape from alcatraz?

There were 14 escape attempts from Alcatraz while it served as a federal penitentiary, with a total of 36 prisoners making 14 escape attempts. Two men trying twice; twenty-three were caught, six were shot and killed, two gave up and five are listed as "missing and presumed drowned".