Why was mewtwo created?

Island's scientists discovered a new Pokémon in a Guyana jungle, that they named it Mew & that it later gave birth to a creature they called Mewtwo; the game's Pokédex entry states that Mewtwo was created by a scientist after years of horrific gene splicing & DNA engineering experiments.