Why do people chew on ice?

People chew on ice for a number of reasons. Sometimes its out of boredom. Sometimes people crush the ice and cover it in sugary syrup and call it a snowcone. Women in labour chew on ice to drink a little water without causing nausea. A desire to chew ice can also be caused by an iron deficiency.