What's the origin of clean as a whistle?

Origin of Clean as a Whistle originated In the early-1800s. This expression had a different meaning than it does today. It described something that was totally finished, or thoroughly completed. It may have supplanted the phrase clear as a whistle, which related to the clear sound of a whistle