Which was the first country to grow cotton?

Cotton cultivation has been present since about 5000 BCE in the Indus Valley region of what is now Sudan and about 3000 BCE in what is now Pakistan. Arab merchants brought cotton to Europe around 800 AD and Columbus found cotton already growing in the Bahamas when he arrived in 1492