What's the substitute for fresh rosemary?

oregano Alternative fresh rosemary substitutions If you don't have dried rosemary on hand or you simply prefer to use fresh ingredients, either oregano or basil will work as a substitute. Use the same amount of your substitute herb as the amount of rosemary your recipe requires.