Is lavender and annual or perennial plant?

Lavender is a perennial crop that can be maintained for 4–5 years if the plants are carefully pruned back to half of their size every year, fertilized, and watered and drained well.

---

All Lavender plants are perennials, not annuals. People mistake lavenders for annuals because they often die over winter due to damage from snow and ice, root rot in cold wet soils or simply lavenders that are not cold hardy have been planted in climates that experience frequent winter frosts.