Why is it called tossing a salad?

It is called Tossing a Salad because to "Toss" all the ingredients into a bowl. You do NOT place each item in the bowl in an exact way,, you just TOSS it all together. and if that does not answer your question YOU SHOULD NOT ASK IT AGAIN!