When does a baby first speak?

At 6 months, babies begin babbling with different sounds and may recognize their name. After 9 months, babies can understand a few basic words like "no" and "bye-bye." Baby talk usually begins at 12-18 months. By age 2, babies can string together a few words in short phrases of two to four words.