Are almonds vegetables?

Almonds are seeds that are enclosed in a hard fruit covering. (a drupe) The growing fruit resembles a peach until it approaches maturity; as it ripens, the leathery outer covering, or hull, splits open, curls outward, and discharges the pit that surrounds the Almond