What is a okra?

Okra is a flowering plant known for its edible seed pods. It thrives in the warm summer climate of the South. Sometimes referred to as lady's finger, okra comes in 2 colors — red & green. Both varieties taste the same, & the red one turns green when cooked. Often used in gumbo or sliced & fried.