How far is a light year?

A Light-year is the distance that light travels in one year. In a year, Light zips through 5.88 trillion miles or 9.46 trillion kilometres in Interstellar space. Interestingly, the light year is a unit of distance and not time, even though it contains the word year.

---

It’s about 5.9 trillion miles (9.5 trillion km).