Where do mealworms come from?

Mealworms probably originated in the Mediterranean region. The adult female mealworm lays about 275 eggs, which hatch in one to two weeks. And out pop tiny mealworms! A: Mealworms can live for over two years. They spend either one or two years as larvae and then turn into beetles.

---

Mealworms are not often found in the wild, as they find human environments more suitable. In nature, they live in moist, dark places such as animal dens and underneath rocks and rotten logs. They are not actually worms, but larvae of the darkling beetle.