What is the drop out about?

The Dropout is specifically based on a podcast of the same name about Elizabeth Holmes' Theranos scandal that was released in early 2019. Because that podcast proved so popular, and because it was produced by ABC News, it was then spun into a 20/20 two-hour episode and then into the Hulu series.