How old are english bulldogs?

The label BULL was given to dogs used in the old English betting sport BULL BAITING. The 1st reference to Bulldog was in 1631 in a letter by Preswick Eaton (found in historical records by Jesse George in 1866). And scientist Christopher Merrett used Butchers Bull Dog in his 1666 science book.