When did north korea south korea split?

In 1950, after years of hostilities, North Korea invaded South Korea in an attempt to re-unify the peninsula under communist rule. The subsequent Korean War, which lasted from 1950 to 1953, ended with a stalemate and has left Korea divided by the Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) up to the present day