What do you add to flour to make it self rising?

Just add 2 teaspoons of baking powder for each 1 cup plain flour. Sift the flour and baking powder together into a bowl before using, to make sure the baking powder is thoroughly distributed (or you can put both ingredients into a bowl and whisk them together).