Where does pumpkin spice come from?

The pumpkin spice as we know it today is actually is a blend of ginger, nutmeg, cinnamon and allspice, created in 1934 by McCormick & Company, who introduced the blend as an alternative for consumers who were buying all four spices to make pumpkin pie.