When did lin manuel miranda write hamilton?

Lin Miranda first wrote a rap about Hamilton in May, 2009. By 2012, Miranda was performing an extended set of pieces based on the life of Hamilton. Hamilton: An American Musical premiered off-Broadway in January, 2015.