What was the first country to celebrate christmas?

Christmas (short for Christ's Mass) was first celebrated in Rome, Italy in 1038. However, the Romans celebrated the winter solstice on December 25 as far back as 336 and the feast day became popular after 800 when Charlemagne was crowned, though it was then associated with drunken misbehavior.