How long is a cat's cycle?

A cat will stay in heat for about 7 to 15 days, if not mated successfully; normally falling in and out of heat cycles from January to August. This is because, cats are polyestrous breeders, which means that they have multiple heat cycles, as compared to dogs that have just two heat cycles in a year.