Who invented isopropyl alcohol?

Isopropyl alcohol was the first commercial synthetic alcohol. Chemists at the Standard Oil Company of New Jersey, (later Exxon Mobil), first produced it in 1920 while studying petroleum by-products. It is easily synthesized from the reaction of propylene with sulfuric acid, followed by hydrolysis.