How long do you cook chicken and dumplings?

Once you heat your seasoned broth to a boil, drop dumplings, one at a time, into boiling chicken mixture. Add carrots and celery. Reduce heat to low. Cover; simmer 15 to 20 minutes, stirring occasionally to prevent dumplings from sticking.