What is the largest mountain ever?

Mount Everest's peak is the highest altitude above mean sea level at 29,029 feet [8,848 meters]. However, if you measure from the bottom of the sea, Mauna Kea in Hawaii is the tallest. The base of Mauna Kea is about 6000 meters below sea level, and the summit is about 4000 meters above sea level.