How long does scabies last?

The scabies infestation usually lasts until treated. People are usually no longer contagious within 24 hours of treatment. Even after successful treatment, the dead mites, dead eggs, and fecal material will remain in the skin for 2 to 4 weeks (until the skin grows out).