What's the name of the pilot in catch twenty two?

The name of the pilot in Joseph Heller's satirical novel "Catch 22", is Captain John Yossarian. Published in 1961, the book centers on Yossarian's desperate attempts to stay alive while stationed on a Mediterranean island during World War Two.