Who is king john the third?

King John III, a.k.a. John the Pious, (born June 6th 1502 - died June 11th 1557), was king of Portugal from 1521 to 1557. His reign saw the development of Portugual as a sea power in the Indian Ocean and the occupation of the Brazilian coast.