Why are brussel sprouts called brussel sprouts?

Brussels sprouts are believed to originate from the city from which they get their name- Brussels, Belgium. Records trace them back to the 13th century. The French coined the name in the 18th century. They are not native to the United States, and they are not know to grow in the wild.