What did the little mermaid come out?

The Disney film, The Little Mermaid, was released on November 17, 1989. It is loosely based on the 1837 Danish fairy tale of the same name by Hans Christian Andersen. The Disney film added multiple original songs, and was a huge box-office hit that led to several follow up films and projects.