What's the difference between unbleached flour and bleached flour?

Flour bleaching is called chlorination and is done mainly with soft wheat flour for cake production. Chlorination improves the starch pasting and decreases the gluten strength - both beneficial for cake production. Chlorination has nowadays been replaced by heat treatment processes.