Is c. o. an element?

Yes, Co is the symbol for the element Cobalt.

---

CO is actually a compound made up of two elements - Carbon and Oxygen. A molecule of the CO compound consists of one Carbon atom and one Oxygen atom, and is known as Carbon Monoxide.