What happens if you don't have your phone on airplane mode?

The reason for airplane mode is to avoid interfering with the aircraft instruments. A cell phone is a radio transmitter. Without airplane mode, it would be require that you turn the phone off. Besides cell phones don’t work in flight to make a call for many technical reasons.