What is a dmd dentist?

The DDS (Doctor of Dental Surgery) and DDM (Doctor of Dental Medicine) are the same degrees. Dentists who have a DMD or DDS have the same education. It's up to the universities to determine what degree is awarded, but both degrees use the same curriculum requirements.