How do you cut a cauliflower?

Remove the light and dark green leaves from the base of the cauliflower. ... Cut and discard the stem at the base. Chop the head into large florets or break it apart with your fingers. Cut the larger florets into smaller florets, if needed, for your recipe. Trim and discard any excess stems