What is a jody in the military?

Cadence call is a call-and-response song sung by military personnel while running or marching. These cadences are often called jody calls, after Jody, a recurring character in traditional cadences; Jody refers to the man with whom a serviceman's wife/girlfriend cheats while he is deployed.