When did they stop using copper to make pennies?

Copper is still used to make pennies today. Between 1962 and 1982 pennies were an alloy of 95% copper, 5% zinc. Now they are 97.5% zinc with a 2.5% copper-plate. Interestingly, old pennies are heavier because zinc weighs less than copper.