How do i cut a fennel bulb?

Trim off the fennel stalks. ... Cut the bulb in half. ... Cut the halves into quarters. ... Peel off any wilted outer layers. ... Slice the fennel crosswise. ... Shave the fennel (optional). ... Use or store the fennel: Fennel is ready to be used right away.

---

First, cut off the green fronds close to the top of the bulb. Next, cut the bulb in half lengthwise. Then, cut a wedge out of the base to remove the root and core of the bulb. Finally, place the bulb cut side down and slice the fennel crosswise or lengthwise, depending on what your recipe calls for.