Are the bahamas in it caribbean?

The Bahamas are located north of the Greater Antilles and southeast of Florida, technically the location of the Bahamas is in the North Atlantic Ocean, and not in the Caribbean, yet sometimes the Bahamas are encompassed as being islands of the Caribbean.