How do you repel ants?

To repel ants, sprinkle cinnamon, mint, chili pepper, black pepper, cayenne pepper, cloves, or garlic in the area where you've seen the ants. Then, treat your home's foundation in the same manner. Placing bay leaves in cabinets, drawers, and containers can also help to deter ants.