How often should you sharpen a kitchen knife?

How often to sharpen them depends on how you use them. Sharpen kitchen knives when they become dull. A mildly dull blade may improve by using a sharpening steel, which straightens out the edge. A real sharpener removes metal from the blade. Sharpening too often can damage the blade.