Who cut off jamie lannisters hand?

In the Game of Thrones TV series, he has his hand cut off by a sell-sword of Roose Bolton, whose name is Locke. In the books, this person is a weird mummer with a lisp called Vargo Hoat, although he doesn't do it himself - he orders Jaime's hand cut off.