What is the textile cashmir?

Cashmere, animal-hair fibers forming the downy undercoat of the Kashmir goat and belonging to the group of textile fibers called specialty hair fibers. Although the word cashmere is sometimes incorrectly applied to extremely soft wools, only the product of the Kashmir goat is true cashmere.