What was louis the fourteenth known for?

Louis XIV called himself the 'Sun King' and his reign is famous for the extension of absolute royal rule and the building of the palace at Versailles which seemed to summarise Louis XIV's reign. He became king of France aged 5 on the death of his father, Louis XIII, in 1643. He died in 1715.