Is it illegal to keep students after the bell?

Schools are legally allowed to make students stay after class for detention, although they must give notice and apply reasonable restrictions. Most teachers keep the bell in mind to pace their lesson, but sometimes a lesson might run a little long and the class needs to stay behind for a few minutes